Rotary Club installs new officers
Jul 03, 2011 | 1483 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
On Tuesday, June 28, the Gilmer Rotary Club inducted new officers for 2011-2012. Outgoing President Pete Herrmann began the program by thanking all those who had helped him over the past year. Special thanks was given to Tim Marshall, who was named Rotarian of the Year for his outstanding efforts as Sergeant at Arms. Mr. Hermann also noted several Club accomplishments during his term including another successful Literacy Spelling Bee, the distribution of dictionaries to Gilmer Elementary students, and hosting the Rotary District Conference this spring.

Area 3 District Assistant Govenor Larry Cannaday had the honor of inducting the new officers for the upcoming year. Officers include Janice Gage (President), Randy Duke (President-Elect), John McWhorter (Treasurer), Carolyn Duke (Secretary), Miriam Hill (Membership), Denise Hart (Program Chair), Phil Fowler (Foundation Chair), Sarah Greene and Christine Bilbrey (Public Relations), Rick Albritton (Community Service), Pete Herrmann (Vocational Service), Lacey Stevenson (Club Service), Stacy Felipe (International Service), Lanny Milton (Polio Plus), and Tim Marshall (Sergeant at Arms).

Following the induction of officers, President Janice Gage outlined her goals for the year which included 100% participation from Club members toward the Polio Plus initiative.

Each Club member will be asked to make an annual gift of $100 to help toward the eradication of Polio in third world countries. Ms. Gage also plans to implement a “backpack for kids” program so that children of low-income families in the Gilmer area will be sent home from school each week with food for the weekend.

The program ended with Ms. Gage recognizing Pete Herrmann for his outstanding leadership as Club President for 2010 - 2011. Mr. Herrmann was presented with a President’s Plaque and received a standing ovation from Club members.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet