KC Electric Power Technology program will host lineman rodeo, graduation Friday
Apr 18, 2017 | 550 views | 0 0 comments | 14 14 recommendations | email to a friend | print


The Kilgore College Electric Power Technology program will host a lineman rodeo and graduation Friday for the 17th class to complete the certificate program.


The rodeo featuring the 23 graduation candidates is set for 9 a.m., Friday, April 21, at the Rusk County Electric Cooperative training field in Henderson, located at 3162 State Highway 43 East.


Graduation is set for 2 p.m. the same day in the Bert E. Woodruff Adult Education Center Auditorium in Kilgore, located at 220 N. Henderson Blvd.


During the rodeo, students will demonstrate skills learned during the 10-week certificate program.


Skills include pole climbing, hurt-man rescue and insulator changing exercises.


At graduation, students will receive their KCEPT Certificate of Completion.


Also, the Danny Belcher “Walking the Wood” trophy will be awarded to the most improved pole climber.


Other awards given will include “Outstanding Student,” based on class grades and field competencies and “Most Supportive Teammate,” selected by class vote.


Since the program’s inception in the fall of 2008 KC has graduated more than 200 students representing five states.


With a large number of projected employee retirements within the next five to seven years, statewide electric distribution companies, municipalities and utility companies are expecting a large shortage of workers.


Graduates can earn starting salaries of $11-20 per hour.


For more information on the program, visit www.kilgore.edu/ept.



Graduation candidates, listed by hometown:


Blossom, TX: J. Blake Little

Bonham, TX: Ethan Fox

Burke, TX: Saul Herrera

Centerville, TX: James Mullen

Commerce, TX: John Giles and Damian Gwin

Cooper, TX: Ryan Longshore

Corrigan, TX: Trevor Brooks

Crestview, FL: Aaron Phelps

Diboll, TX: Ruben Acevedo and Carlos Gurrola

Ector, TX: Nathan Johnson

Farmersville, TX: Bret Hoover

Forney, TX: Joseph L. Spillman

Grapeland, TX: Shiloh Crouch

Henderson, TX: Lance Drake

Lufkin, TX: Caleb Boles and Zach Smith

New Braunfels, TX: Tim Page

Pittsburg, TX: Troy Morris, Jr.

Reno, TX: T. Parker Termin

Savoy, TX: Ryder Caplinger

Tyler, TX: Blake Story







Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet