NTCC receives $85,000 grant from Meadows Foundation
Jun 19, 2010 | 1032 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Northeast Texas Community College recently learned that it has been awarded a grant for $85,000 from The Meadows Foundation of Dallas.

This money will be used to help fund the construction of the Elizabeth Hoggatt Whatley Agriculture Complex on the NTCC campus farm. This new facility is scheduled to be completed by August 31 of this year. The 9,000 square foot multi-purpose LEED certified building will feature state-of-the-art green technology. In addition to regular classrooms, the building will feature a teaching kitchen and a 13,000 square foot open-air pavilion for classes and special events.

“We are thrilled to receive this generous grant from The Meadows Foundation. NTCC is very excited about expanding our agriculture program and this gift will go a long way to helping us reach our goals in that area,” Dr. Jonathan McCullough, NTCC Vice President for Advancement, said.

The Meadows Foundation is a private philanthropic institution established in 1948 by Algur H. and Virginia Meadows to benefit the people of Texas. The Foundation’s mission is to assist the people and institutions of Texas to improve the quality and circumstances of life for themselves and future generations.

Since its inception, the Foundation’s assets have grown to a current value in excess of $670 million, and it has disbursed more than $660 million in grants and direct charitable expenditures to more than 2,900 Texas institutions and agencies. Foundation grants support work in the fields of arts and culture, civic and public affairs, education, health and human services.

For more information about the agriculture program at NTCC, please contact Dr. Charlie Apter at 903-434-8267 or visit www.ntcc.edu. For information on The Meadows Foundation, visit www.mfi.org.

Representatives from Northeast Texas Community College accept the Meadows Foundation grant in front of the new Elizabeth Hoggatt Whatley Agriculture Complex. Picture (from left) is Tim Johnston, Director of Plant Services, Dr. Jonathan McCullough, Vice President for Advancement, Beth Thompson, Vice President for Administrative Services, Dr. Brad Johnson, President, Dr. Charlie Apter, Director of Agriculture, Kevin Rose, Dean of Business, Technology and Continuing Education and Dr. Ron Clinton, Executive Vice President for Instruction.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet